Sunday, February 6, 2011

Michael Vick Wins Comeback Player of the Year Award; Tom Brady Unanimously Voted as AP Most Valuable Player

Yesterday the league announced that Philadelphia Eagles' quarterback Michael Vick had won the NFL's Comeback Player of the Year award, and rightly so.

In his first full season back after serving jail time for his participation in dog fighting, Vick led the Eagles to a 10-6 record and an NFC East title. His Eagles were one and done in the playoffs after failing to come back against the Pack, who were eventual NFC Champions, in the opening round.
Before his jail term, Vick was a run-oriented quarterback and was always looking for a running lane rather than an open receiver. But this year, his throwing arm seemed remarkably stronger, and more accurate. Not only was he concentrated on passing the ball first, be he was also a more effective runner when he did tuck the ball away and take off down the field.

Vick wasn't even named the opening day starter, and only got the chance to start because of the concussion that Kevin Kolb suffered in the first week of the season against Green Bay. Vick ended the season with 3,018 passing yards and 21 touchdowns, both career-highs. He also set a career-high with nine rushing touchdowns (100 attempts, 676 yards). Even more impressive? He threw just six interceptions, and didn't throw his first until week 11.
If Tom Brady didn't have a near flawless regular season--not postseason, the award is given out according to regular season play--then Vick may have had a shot at winning the MVP as well. Instead, Brady became the first player in history to win unanimously win the league MVP award.

Brady led his Patriots to a league-best 14-2 record, and threw a league-high 36 touchdown passes. The NFL Offensive Player of the Year (handed out earlier this week) threw for just shy of 4,000 yards (3,900) and just four interceptions, which is the least amount he has thrown in one season discounting 2008 when he missed the entire season.

Other awards handed out this week: Sam Bradford and Ndamukong Suh won Offensive and Defensive Rookies of the Year respectively. And rightly so.

Photo credit
Michael Vick: Kirby Lee/NFL
Tom Brady: Kirby Lee/NFL

No comments:

Post a Comment

Tell us what you think!